Polling for last phase of Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra tomorrow

Mumbai: Polling for the third and final phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra will be held tomorrow to decide the fate of 338 candidates, including NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal and Union Minister Milind Deora, in the fray in 19 seats, including six constituencies in Mumbai.

Polling will be held in Nandurbar, Dhule, Jalgaon, Raver, Dindori, Nashik in North Maharashtra, Jalna, Aurangabad in Marathwada, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane in Thane district and Raigad, besides all the six constituencies of Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai South, Mumbai North East and Mumbai North West.

Lok Sabha elections 2014
Representational pic

Prominent candidates in the poll arena include PWD Minister Chhagan Bhujbal (Nashik), Union minister Deora (Mumbai South) of Congress and Water Resources Minister and NCP leader Sunil Tatkare (Raigad).

Of the 338 candidates in the electoral fray, 149 are independents and 26 women.

Out of the total 3,17,39,442 voters, 1,70,20,383 are men and 1,46,22,713 are women.

There are 12 constituencies with over 16 candidates. Aurangabad has the highest number of 27 candidates, while Nandurbar has the lowest number of nine contestants. Thane (20,72,476 voters) is the largest parliamentary seat while Mumbai South central (14,46,979 voters) is the smallest.

There are 121 candidates from registered political parties other than recognised national and state parties.

BJP is contesting 11, Shiv Sena eight, Congress ten, NCP eight, MNS seven, CPI 2 and CPM 3 seats. BSP is contesting all the 19 seats.

There will be 34,343 polling stations for this phase. In the three-phase elections, ten seats in Vidarbha region went to polls on April 10, while voting for 19 seats in Marathwada and Western Maharashtra regions was held on April 17.

    Leave a Reply