Polls in BMC, 9 other municipal corporations Feb 16

Jan 03, 2012, 19:20 IST | Agencies

Elections to 10 major municipal corporations in Maharashtra, including the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation, will be held Feb 16, an election official said Tuesday.

State Election Commissioner Neela Satyanarayan also announced Feb 7 as the date for elections to 27 Zilla Parishads across the state.

She said the model of conduct would be enforced from Tuesday in all the areas going to the polls on these dates.

Besides the BMC, Thane, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad and Nashik municipal corporations will go to the polls Feb 16.

The development comes barely a fortnight after elections were held in around 200 smaller civic bodies around the state in mid-December.

Go to top