While Abhijit secured 3,32,919 votes, his nearest rival Communist Party of India-Marxist’s (CPI-M) Muzaffar Hussain lost in a photo finish getting 3,30,383 in the vote count. The by-election was held on October 10.

Pranab Mukherjee had retained the seat in the minority-dominated Murshidabad district by over 1.28 lakh votes in 2009.

The Congress votes dropped sharply to a little over 39 per cent — a decrease of nearly 15 per cent. The CPI-M, which got almost 39 per cent, suffered a slight erosion of 1.53 per cent compared to its vote share three years ago.

Hussain led in four — Jangipur, Sagardighi, Suti, Nabagram — of the seven assembly segments.