President Mukherjee to present National Sports Awards

Aug 29, 2015, 08:51 IST | PTI

New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee will present the National Sports Awards for 2014-15 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here on Saturday. Tennis star Sania Mirza, who won the women's doubles title at Wimbledon in the UK recently, will be conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.

Currently, ranked World No. 1 tennis doubles player in the women's category, Mirza on Friday expressed her happiness at receiving the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and dedicated it to her family and to India.

"I feel very happy, privileged and honoured to receive this award and I would like to dedicate it to the people of India and my family," Mirza told ANI here. The World No. 1 also extended her gratitude to the Indian Government and the sports ministry who nominated her for the award.

The government also announced 17 other sportspersons, including cricketer Rohit Sharma and shooter Jitu Rai, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, hockey player P R Sreejesh, wrestling duo of Bajrang and Babita, athlete M.R. Poovamma, shuttler K. Srikanth and boxer Mandeep Jangra, for the 2015 Arjuna Awards.

The officially announced winners for Dronacharya Awards 2015 are: Coach Anoop Singh for wrestling, Harbans Singh for athletics, Swatantar Raj Singh for boxing, Nihar Ameen for swimming and Naval Singh for athletics - para-sports. The Dhyan Chand award for lifetime achievement will be given to Shiv Prakash Misra.

Go to top