Maker of Hindi film 'Q' Sanjeev Gupta was today selected for the 18th Gollapudi Srinivas National Award for the Best Debut film.

Sanjeev Gupta
Sanjeev Gupta

'Q' was selected from 27 nominations from across the country in several languages, including Hindi, Malayalam, Marathi, Bengali, Telugu and Kannada, a release from the Gollapudi Srinivas Memorial Foundation said.

The award, earlier bagged by directors including actor Aamir Khan (Taare Zameen Par) and Amit Rai of 'Road to Sangam' fame, was constitute in the memory of Gollapudi Srinivas, who died during an accident while filming his debut venture in 1992.

'Q' is a 'gripping narrative' about the transit visit of a six-year-old girl who is brought to Mumbai from a village.

"The film unfolds captivating the audience's attention from the very first frame," the release said.

The film was selected by a jury comprising of Director S M Vasanth, national award-winning Film Editor Singeetham Srinivasa Rao and actor Rohini.

The award carries Rs 1.5 lakh as cash prize and a memento and will be presented on August 12, in keeping with the usual practice, it said.