'Queen' wins big at Filmfare Awards 2015

Feb 01, 2015, 11:37 IST | PTI

Vikas Bahl's coming-of-age drama 'Queen' triumphed at the 60th Filmfare Awards, winning in key categories including best film, best director and best actress for its lead star Kangana Ranaut.

The film bagged six honours in total - best editing to Abhijit Kokate and Anurag Kashyap, best cinematography (Bobby Singh and Siddharth Diwan) and and best background score for Amit Trivedi.

The poster of 'Queen'. Pic/Santa Banta
The poster of 'Queen'. Pic/Santa Banta

Kangana, who saw off competition from Alia Bhatt, Madhuri Dixit, Priyanka Chopra, Rani Mukerji and Sonam Kapoor in the best actress category, was not present to accept her award.

Vishal Bhardwaj's Shakespearean tale 'Haider' closely followed 'Queen' with five wins which includes a black lady for Shahid Kapoor in the best actor category and best supporting honours for Tabu and Kay Kay Menon.

'Haider' triumphed in the technical categories as well, with Dolly Ahluwalia winning best costume designer and Subrata Chakraborty and Amit Ray topping the best production design list.

The lifetime achievement award was given to veteran actress Kamini Kaushal for her outstanding contribution to
Indian cinema.

Young star Alia Bhatt bagged the best actress (Critics) trophy for 'Highway' and Sanjay Mishra won the best actor
(Critics) for his outstanding performance in 'Ankhon Dekhi', which also earned director-writer Rajat Kapoor the best story gong.

Kriti Sanon won best debut female award for 'Heropanti', while Pakistani heartthrob Fawad Khan won the best debut male award for 'Khoobsurat'.

Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi won for 'PK' in the best screenplay and best dialogue categories, which were the
only wins for the Aamir Khan-starrer film.

In the music categories, Ankit Tiwari won best male playback singer for 'Galiyaan' from 'Ek Villain' and Kanika
Kapoor was named best female playback singer for 'Baby Doll' from 'Ragini MMS 2'.

Trio Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy won best music director for their work in '2 States'. Best lyrics honour went to Rashmi Singh
for 'Muskurane' from 'CityLights' Anil Kumar Konakandla and Prabal Pradhan won the best sound design honour for 'Mardaani'. Sham Kaushal won an award for best action in 'Gunday'. Best choreography honour was handed out to Ahmed Khan for the song 'Jumme Ki Raat' from Salman Khan's 'Kick'.

The evening saw performances from Salman Khan, Arjun Kapoor, Shraddha Kapoor, Varun Dhawan, Ranbir Kapoor, Alia Bhatt and was attended by B-Town celebrities like Rekha, Kajol, Manisha Koirala, Neha Dhupia, Subhash Ghai, Vidya Balan among others.

The ceremony held at Yash Raj Studios was hosted by filmmaker Karan Johar and stand-up comedian Kapil Sharma

Go to top