Rahul Gandhi, Arvind Kejriwal, booked for sedition

Feb 29, 2016, 06:12 IST | Agencies

Hyderabad: Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, CPI (M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury are among nine persons who have been booked on sedition charges in connection with the JNU row, police said

In the dock: Rahul Gandhi
In the dock: Rahul Gandhi

An FIR has been registered against Rahul, Kejriwal, Yechury, Congress leaders Anand Sharma and Ajay Maken, CPI leader D Raja, JD(U) Spokesperson KC Tyagi, JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar and JNU research scholar Umar Khalid on the order of a court here, based on a complaint filed by lawyer Janardhan Goud.

"It is a court-referred matter. Following the court’s directive, a case under section 124A of the IPC (sedition) has been registered yesterday against nine persons, including Rahul Gandhi, Arvind Kejriwal, Sitaram Yechury, JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar and others," Saroornagar Police Station Inspector S Lingaiah said yesterday. The court has posted the matter for hearing on March 4.

Go to top