Sathiyan, Suthirtha lift table tennis titles

Jun 23, 2017, 07:23 IST | A Correspondent

G Sathiyan of Petrol Sports Promotion Board
G Sathiyan of Petrol Sports Promotion Board

G Sathiyan of PSPB and Suthirtha Mukherjee of West Bengal were crowned men's women's champions respectively in the 11Even Sports National Ranking (Central Zone) table tennis championships played at the Abhay Prashad Indoor Stadium, here yesterday.

In the men's final, the wily Sathiyan stamped his superiority with a clinical performance to quash the aspirations of West Bengal's talented paddler Arjun Ghosh by recording an authoritative 4-0 (11-5, 11-6, 11-6, 11-2) victory without much ado.

Earlier, the women's summit clash also witnessed a one-sided contest as Suthirtha was in complete control against Sreeja Akula from Telenga. The West Bengal paddler played solidly from the start and won 4-1 (11-4, 5-11, 11-6, 11-4, 12-10).

Trending Video

Virender Sehwag's hilarious tweets make you laugh out loud


Download the new mid-day android app to get updates on all the latest and trending stories on the go

Go to top