Sena-BJP emerge as largest block in Thane, to retain power

The Shiv Sena-BJP alliance is set to retain the control of Thane Municipal Corporation, belying the prediction that anti-incumbency factor and MNS would make it difficult for the saffron parties to come back to power.

Sena-BJP-RPI alliance today emerged as the largest block in the 130-member house, with Shiv Sena winning 53 seats, BJP 8, and RPI 1.

Despite forming a pre-poll alliance, Congress and NCP failed to make a decisive impact. While NCP bagged 34 seats, Congress won 18.

Raj Thackeray's MNS could get only 7 seats. BSP won two seats, independents won other 7.

Prominent candidates who lost included Subhash Bhoir of Shiv Sena, who had crossed over from NCP only a few weeks ago, leader of the outgoing house Pandurang Patil (Shiv Sena), and former Mayor Ashok Raul (NCP), Deoram Bhoir (NCP).

Mayor Ashok Vaiti (Shiv Sena) won his seat. MLA Pratap Sarnaik's wife Parisha and son Vihang (both from Shiv Sena) also won. Similarly, the wife of MLA Rajan Vichare, Nandini, also got elected on Shiv Sena ticket.

    Leave a Reply