Siobhan may prevail in "Triple Million" race

Jan 09, 2016, 12:47 IST | Prakash Gosavi

The first race of evening racing at the Mahalaxmi racecourse features a card of eight races; the last three of them will be run under the floodlights. The prime event, the Zavaray Poonawalla Evening Racing Triple Million, lives up to its name by offering Rs 3 million as prize money. The winner will be eligible for the biggest trophy in the history of Indian racing, valued at Rs 1 million, besides the stake money of Rs 19.53 lakh. The runner up will pocket another Rs 6.51 lakh, the third-placed horse will get Rs 3.25 lakh, while horses finishing down the line will also take smaller denominations home.

No wonder 15 three-year-old horses have entered the fray--one of them, Lord Darlington trained by S Padmanabhan, coming all the way from Bangalore. It's extremely difficult to spot the winner as seven of the 15 will be making their debut, and therefore, are unknown entities as of now. However, going by the performances of those who have had the benefit of a run and the track trials of the debutants, I feel the eventual winner may emerge from the quartet of Lord Darlington, Allora, Devoted Eyes and Siobhan, the last-named, having registered a decent class factor on the scale of my Dynamic Ratings, getting my first nomination.

First race at 4.00 pm.

Western India Race Horse Owners' Association Trophy - Div II (Class IV; 1000m)
Shivalik Story 1, Rosella 2, Vittoria 3.

Byculla Club Trophy (For 4y&o; 2800m)
The Unicorn 1, Snowing 2, Caesars Star 3.

Enormous Cup (Class V; 1400m)
Mythical Sunrise 1, Tennessee 2, Commitment 3.

P D Avasia Trophy (Class II; 1200m)
Another Conquest 1, Classic Moment 2, Brahmachari 3.

Native Knight Gold Trophy (Class IV; 2400m)
Joss 1, Voshkie 2, Uncle Scrooge 3.

Western India Race Horse Owners' Association Trophy - Div I (Class IV; 1000m)
Shades Of Glory 1, Romantic Lass 2, Forever Yours 3.

Zavaray Poonawalla Evening Racing Triple Million (For 3y; 1200m)
Siobhan 1, Devoted Eyes 2, Lord Darlington 3.

Damodardas C Shah Trophy (Class III; 1400m)
Denny Crane 1, Traherne 2, Fast Lady 3.
Best bet: None
Good bet: The Unicorn (2-5)
Chance bet: Shades Of Glory (6-11)
Upset: Gunga Din (3-2), Pepito (4-5) & Gaabrio (5-1)

Today's pools
Super jackpot pool: 2,3,4,5,6,7
Jackpot pool: 3,4,5,6,7
Treble pool: I - 4,5,6; II - 6,7,8
Tanala pool: All races.

Related News

    Go to top