SK Acharya Trophy: Mumbai beat Bengal by 27 runs

Kolkata: Surya Kumar Yadav sent Bengal bowlers to the cleaners with a scintillating 46-ball unbeaten 102, while pacer Wilkin Mota claimed five wickets to power Mumbai to a 27-run win and brighten their hopes for a final berth in the SK Acharya Memorial Challenger Trophy ODI tournament here yesterday.

Surya Kumar Yadav
Surya Kumar Yadav 

Put in to exploit the early morning conditions at the JU second campus seaming wicket, Mumbai did not have any trouble against the Bengal attack as Bravish Shetty (73) and and Abhishek Nayar (65) gave a perfect start before Yadav's explosive innings studded with two sixes and 18 boundaries guided them to a mammoth 360/7.

Bengal showed appetite for the huge target with Arindam Das' sheet anchor innings of 147 from 118 balls (18x4, 2x6) but he ran out of partners after Subhajit Banerjee's impressive 61 as Mumbai pacer Wilkin Mota grabbed 5/55 to give them a second win from as many matches.

Brief Scores
Mumbai 360/7; 50 overs (Surya Kumar Yadav 102 not out, Bravish Shetty 73, Abhishek Nayar 65, Shreyas Iyer 59; Veer Pratap Singh 2/61, Amir Gani 2/72, Ashok Dinda 2/76) b Bengal 333; 47.4 overs (Arindam Das 147, Subhajit Banerjee 61; Wilkin Mota 5/55, Shradul Thakur 2/56) by 27 runs.

    Leave a Reply