Guwahati: India on Saturday grabbed both the gold and silver medals on offer, establishing early dominance in the cycling competition of the 12th South Asian Games in Guwahati.

Indians finished first and second each in both the men's 40km individual time trial and women's 30km individual time trial finals to begin the cycling competition on a high.

Tourangbam Bidyalaxmi won the women's 30km individual time trial event in a time of 49 minutes 24.573 seconds ahead of compatriot and fellow Manipuri Elangbam Chaoba Devi, who clocked 49 minutes 31.311 seconds in the road race at the national highway number 37. Sahiba Bibi of Pakistan won the bronze in a time of 50:10.598.

In the men's 40km individual time trial final, Arvind Panwar clocked 52 minutes and 28.800 seconds to win the gold while his Indian team-mate Manjeet Singh was second in 54 minute and 1.183 seconds. Janaka Hemantha Kumara of Sri Lanka was third in 55:25.441.

India had dominated cycling in the last edition in Dhaka as well by winning 3 gold and a silver. Sri Lanka had won 1 gold and 1 silver then.