ST Mary's ICSE (Mazagoan) stunned defending champions St Stanislaus 4-3 via tie breaker in the boys U-10 Div I final of the MSSA inter-school football tournament at Azad Maidan yesterday.

A St Stanislaus player tries to tackle a St Mary's lad (in blue)

Given the Bandra outfit's superiority in schools football, the Mazagaon team went into the final as underdogs. However, their precise planning and man-to-man marking decided things in their favour.

After both  teams were tied 0-0 at full time, Brendan Alphonso, Aman Hirani, Arban Jain and Ishan Chainani scored for St Mary's in the tie-breaker, while Dale Veronen, Adam Alvares and Keegan Pinto converted for Stanislaus.

"For the last couple of years we have been reaching the final but never won it. So, I'm glad we could win the this U-10 title after a gap of four years," said St Mary's coach Savio Rodrigues.

Other results: Third Place; Campion School 1 (Dev Gupta) bt The Cathedral & John Connon 0.