New Delhi: National team captain Sunil Chhetri was named the ‘AIFF 2014 Player of the Year’ for the second consecutive year on Saturday.

National team captain Sunil Chhetri
Sunil Chhetri (right) vies for the ball against a Jordan player  during their  2014 Incheon Asian Games match at Munhak Stadium in September. Pic/Getty Images.

The 30-year-old Chhetri was chosen for the award on the basis of votes from coaches of I-League Clubs. He led Bengaluru FC to its maiden I-League title in the first year of its participation. Chhetri, who had also won the award in 2013 will be presented a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh besides a trophy, an AIFF release said.

This is his third ‘AIFF Player of the Year Award’ in four years and fourth overall. In the process, he overtook legendary I M Vijayan’s feat of winning it three times. Chhetri had earlier won the award in 2007, 2011 and 2013 while Vijayan had won it in 1992, 1997 and 2000.