Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Delhi record hat-trick of victories, beat MP by 4 wickets

Vadodara: Veteran captain Gautam Gambhir managed to find some form as Delhi recorded their third straight win, beating Madhya Pradesh by four wickets in a group C encounter of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament, here yesterday.

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir

Batting first, MP scored 156 for six with skipper Naman Ojha scoring 48 off 42 balls. His innings was studded with four boundaries and two sixes. Pradeep Sangwan with 3/22 was the best bowler for Delhi.

In reply, Delhi reached the target with two balls to spare as they now have 12 points from three games. Another win will put them firmly in sight of a quarter-final berth. Skipper Gautam Gambhir, who has failed for the better part of this season, scored a run-a-ball 38 with three boundaries.

He was scratchy to begin with but hung around till the total reached 100. The ones who got the momentum to shift in Delhi's favour are Nitish Rana, who hammered 28 off 15 balls with two boundaries and two sixes and Milind Kumar, who chipped in with an unbeaten 36 of 26 balls that had four hits to the fence.

Pawan Negi once again used his long handle to a great effect as he played a cameo of 17 from 11 balls with a maximum and a boundary.

    Leave a Reply