Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Mumbai bowlers script six-wicket win over Odisha

Cuttack: Mumbai produced a disciplined bowling display to notch up a comprehensive six-wicket victory over Odisha in a weather-hit Group D Twenty20 match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here today.

Electing to field, Mumbai dismissed Odisha for a paltry 91 in 17.4 overs and then returned to overhaul the target in just 15.5 overs in a match that was reduced to 18 overs a side due to inclement weather.

Mumbai rode on the innings by Aditya Tare (32) and Siddhesh Lad (31 not out) to romp home with 13 balls to spare at the Barabati Stadium.

Earlier, Dhawal Kulkarni (2/17), Shardul Thakur (2/11), Rohan Raje (2/18), Abhishek Nayar (2/21) and Pravin Tambe
(2/20) -- all scalped two wickets each to shot out Odisha in 17.4 overs.

Abhishek Yadav (33) was the top-scorer for Odisha as only two more batsmen -- BS Patil (10) and AK Sahoo (19) could reach doubles figures.

Chasing the target, Mumbai too had a disappointing start, losing opener Akhil Herwadkar (4) in the six ball of the opening over. Shreyas Iyer (16) and Suryakumar Yadav (5) also were dismissed cheaply but Tare and Lad added 48 runs to take them on the brink of victory.

Brief Score:
Odisha: 91 all out in 17.4overs (A Yadav 33; SN Thakur 2/11)
Mumbai: 95/4 in 15.5 overs (A Tare 32; DR Behera 2/14).

    Leave a Reply