Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Shreyas Iyer's heroics fail to inspire Mumbai to win over UP

Jan 07, 2016, 20:52 IST | PTI

Cuttack: Uttar Pradesh middle-order batsman Umang Sharma's unbeaten 47 upstaged a brilliant 78 by Shreyas Iyer as Uttar Pradesh stole a tense four-wicket win against big guns Mumbai in the Group D Twenty20 cricket match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here today.

Chasing 165 for a win at the Barabati Stadium, UP top-order batsmen squandered away good starts only to see Umang stay on with his 32-ball blitz and help the side achieve the target with two balls to spare.

Openers Prashant Gupta (33) and Samarth Singh (16) provided a 40-run start and later skipper Suresh Raina (20) and Akshdeep Nath (14) also chipped in with useful contributions.

Mumbai pace spearhead Dhawal Kulkarni and part-timer Siddhesh Lad bagged two wickets each. 

Earlier put into bat, Mumbai rode Shreyas Iyer's 43-ball 78 to post 164 for six in 20 overs. 

Ankit Rajpoot and Piyush Chawla picked up two wickets each.

Brief Scores:
Mumbai 164/6 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 78, Akhil Herwadkar 28; Ankit Rajpoot 2-27, Piyush Chawla 2-21)
Uttar Pradesh 168/6 in 19.4 overs (Umang Sharma 47 not out, Prashant Gupta 33; Dhawal Kulkarni 2-31, Siddhesh Lad 2-27)
Points: Uttar Pradesh 4, Mumbai 0.

Go to top