West Indian great Brian Lara scored 501 not out off just 427 deliveries in 1994 to become the first and only batsman in history to surpass 500 runs in a first class innings. To mark the occasion, let's take a look at the highest individual scorers — in all forms of cricket.

Brian Lara
Brian Lara. Pic/ AFP

Pakistani great Hanif Mohammad (499) and Don Bradman (452*) are the only other batsmen to scores in excess of 450. The Trinidadian smashed 62 boundaries and 10 sixes to leave a hapless Durham attack in disarray.

Brian Lara set a world record unbeaten innings of 400* against England at Antigua. This knock eclipsed Lara's previous best of 375 against the same opponents at the same venue. His unbeaten knock took him 582 balls and 778 minutes and included 43 boundaries and four sixes.

Rohit Sharma after his epic innings of 264 not out against Sri Lanka on the hallowed Eden Gardens turf in 2014.
Rohit Sharma after his epic innings of 264 not out against Sri Lanka on the hallowed Eden Gardens turf in 2014.

Rohit Sharma became the first man in history to score two ODI double centuries and the only one to pass the 250 barrier when he scored 264 against Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens in 2004. The only other cricketers to score double centuries in ODIs are also Indians -- Virender Sehwag (219) and Sachin Tendulkar (200*). (READ FULL MATCH REPORT)

IN PICTURES: Rohit Sharma's Route 264

Australian batsman Aaron Finch scored a world record 156 in the a T20 international vs. England at the Rose Bowl in 2013. The opener hit 11 boundaries and 14 sixes in his epic 63-ball knock. Interestingly, Finch remains the only Australian to have scored a T20I century. His effort saw his surpass the previous record of 123 held by Kiwi Brendon McCullum.

English club side Surrey's Alistair Brown thrashed 30 boundaries and 12 sixes around the Kennington ground in a county match against Glamorgan for his record-breaking 268. He took just 160 balls and 199 minutes to break the record before being bowled by Michael Kasprowicz. India's Shikhar Dhawan is in second place with 248 for India 'A' against South Africa 'A' in 2013.

ALSO READ: Twitter taken over by 'Gayle' storm

Chris Gayle went berserk at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Tuesday scoring an unbeaten 175
Chris Gayle went berserk at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium during IPL 6 scoring an unbeaten 175. 

West Indian explosive batsman Chris Gayle was at his destructive best during the 2013 IPL scoring 175 not out off a mere 66 balls. His record-breaking innings included 13 boundaries and 17 sixes against Pune Warriors. Brendon McCullum (158*) and Aaron Finch (156) are behind him on the list at second and third respectively. (READ MORE)

Mumbai teenager Pranav Dhanawade smashed an unbeaten knock of 1009 in an inter-school tournament which is the highest cricket score ever. Before Pranav's mammoth innings, Prithvi Shaw of Rizvi Springfield school had held the Indian record when he scored 546 in 2013 vs St Francis D'Assisi in a Harris Shield match at the Azad Maidan in Mumbai.

The world record individual score in all forms of cricket previously was in the name of AEJ Collins who had hit 628 not out for Clifton College in an 1899 schools match.