Top seed Prannoy enters quarters at badminton tournament

Top seed H S Prannoy entered the men's singles quarter-finals, but women's second seed Tanvi Lad was knocked out of the USD 15,000 Tata Open India International Challenge Badminton tournament, here today.

H S Prannoy
H S Prannoy

Prannoy breezed past Aditya Prakash (21-16, 21-14) after earlier posting an easy win against Oscar Bansal (21-7, 21-5) at the Cricket Club of India to move to the last 8. He will play against eighth seed Subhankar Dey tomorrow.

Third seed B Sai Praneeth had an easy win over Deepak Khatri (21-10, 21-13) to book a berth in the quart-finals.

Former National Champion Chetan Anand secured easy wins over Gaurav Venkat (21-12, 21-10) and then Amey Joshi (21-8 21-16) to move into the quarters.

Two times Tata Open winner in the women's single PC Thulasi defeated Croatia's Dorotea Sutara (21-15 21-13) to earn a spot in the last 8 stage.

Third seed Saili Rane moved to the quarter finals by defeating Shruti Mundada (21-13 21-17). One of biggest upsets on the day was Tanvi Lad being knocked out by Rituparna Das (16-21 11-21). Former National Champion Sayali Gokhale, too, was routed by fourth seed Arundhati Pantawane (21-15, 20-22, 15-21).

Results :-
Men's singles (Round 32): H S Prannoy (IND) bt Oscar Bansal (IND), 21-7, 21-5 Aditya Prakash (IND) bt Ratnajit Tamang (NEP), 21-13 21-12 Subhankar Dey (IND) bt Aditya Joshi (IND), 21-14 21-12 Neeraj Vashist (IND) bt Srujan Nandaluri (IND), 21-15 21-11, B. Sai Praneeth (IND) def Deepak Khatri (IND), 21-10 21-13 Harsheel Dani (IND) bt Utkarsh Arora (IND), 21-7 21-13 Ajay Jayaram (IND) bt Bikash Shrestha (IND), 21-7 21-11 Sameer Verma (IND) bt Kaushal Dharmamer (IND), 21-11 12-21 21-17 Gaurav Venkat (IND) bt Kabir Kanzarkar (IND), 21-18 16-21 22-20 Chetan Anand (IND) bt Amey Joshi (IND), 21-8 21-16 Ketan Chahal (IND) bt Sachin Rawat, (IND) 21-17 19-21 21-14 R. M. V. Gurusaidutt (IND) bt Abhishek Yelegar 21-17 21-13 C. Rohit Yadav (IND) bt Mohit Kamat, (IND) 21-14 21-15 Akshit Mahajan (IND) bt Siddharath Thakur, (IND) 22-20 21-15 Shreyansh Jaiswal (IND) bt Pratul Joshi, (IND) 18-21 21-12 21-11Sourabh Varma (IND) bt Arun Kumar Ashok Kumar, (IND) 21-10 21-9.

Women's single (Round 32): Dorotea Sutara (CRO) Ritu Vinayak (IND), 21-11 21-17 Kuhoo Garg (IND) bt Seema Panchal (IND), 21-11 21-9 Sayali Gokhale (IND) bt Rasika Raje (IND), 22-20 21-17, Riya Pillai (IND) bt Nangsal Tamang (NEP),21-11 21-5 Rucha Nikam (IND) bt Sara Devi Tamang (NEP), 20-22 21-9 21-12 Shruti Mundada (IND) bt Lalita Dahiya (IND), 21-13 21-6 G R Shivani (IND) bt Thilini Jayasinghe (SRI), 21-5 21-10 Rituparna Das (IND) bt Juhi Dewangan (IND), 21-15 21-14.

You May Like



    Leave a Reply