Nay Pyi Taw: U Htin Kyaw of the National League for Democracy (NLD), led by Aung San Suu Kyi, was sworn in as Myanmar's new president on Wednesday.

Myanmar new President Htin Kyaw (3L), flanked by Vice Presidents Myint Swe (2L) and Henry Van Thio (4L), is sworn in to office by House Speaker Mahn Win Khine Than (1L) during a ceremony in Naypyidaw on March 30, 2016. Pic/AFP

NLD leader Aung San Suu Kyi was on Wednesday appointed as Myanmar's new foreign minister, Xinhua reported.

Suu Kyi will also hold three other portfolios, it was decided in the presence of parliament Speaker U Mann Win Khaing Than.

Military-assigned first vice president U Myint Swe and elected second vice president of the NLD U Henry Van Thio were also sworn in to office.