Ukraine Crisis: Obama announces sanctions on 11 Russian, Ukrainian officials

Washington: US President Barack Obama on Monday announced sanctions against seven Russian and four Ukrainian officials after a referendum in Crimea, the White House said.

US President Barack Obama. File pic

The sanctions include assets freeze and travel bans on the 11 people, who the US said are responsible for threatening Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity.

Among those sanctioned are ousted Ukrainian president Viktor Yanukovych and Russian Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin.

The Crimean parliament declared independence from Ukraine Monday after official results showed 96.77 percent of Crimean voters chose to join Russia in Sunday's referendum.

The parliament has also formally sent an application to the Kremlin to join the Russian Federation as a new republic.

    Leave a Reply