Umpire incident shocks Andy Murray
World No. 1 Andy Murray was shocked when Denis Shapovalov hit an umpire in the eye with a ball
London: World No. 1 Andy Murray was shocked when Denis Shapovalov hit an umpire in the eye with a ball.
And Murray believes the “freak incident” will be more of a deterrent than any fine or ban, ensuring the 17-year-old Canadian never does anything similar again.
“For sure it is a wake-up call for all players,” Murray said. “It was shocking — I have never seen anything like that before. I am still not sure exactly how he managed to do that. You can’t always control your emotions. And that was close to being very dangerous. It will have been shocking to him. I am sure he totally regrets what he did. I think the embarrassment will almost be enough for him to learn from that and make sure it never happens again,” Murray added.