With state assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh a little over six months away, Chief Minister Mayawati on Tuesday announced that the state cabinet has approved a proposal to split the state into four regions.

Addressing a press conference here, Mayawati announced that Uttar Pradesh would be reorganised into four smaller states - Bundelkhand, Awadh Pradesh, Poorvanchal and Paschim Pradesh.

She further revealed that the resolution for a division of the state into four parts would be formally passed during the state assembly session that is to begin from November 21.

Poorvanchal comprises of 22 eastern districts of the state, including Gorakhpur and Balia. The current capital Lucknow would fall in Awadh Pradesh, which comprises of 14 districts.

Bundelkhand has seven districts, including Jhansi, while Paschim Pradesh would have 22 districts, comprising Meerut, Ghaziabad and Gutam Buddh Nagar among others.

Further emphasizing that the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has always worked for the betterment of weaker sections of society, Mayawati said: "The Uttar Pradesh government had asked the Centre to provide more funds for development but the Prime Minister didn't respond."