Defending champion Neeraj Pal Singh and 2013 champion Elam Singh will be star attractions in the fifth edition of the Vasai-Virar Mayor’s Marathon to be held on November 22.

Pal Singh broke Elam’s record of 2:22:44 set in 2012 to win the race last year in 2:22:38 and pocketed R 2 lakh in prize money.

Among other runners who would take part in the full 42.195-km race are Nitender Singh Rawat, Prahlad Sahai Meena, Girish Tiwari, Radhey Kumar, Sunil Kumar and Kapil Kumar, it was announced at a media conference yesterday.

The women’s half marathon has attracted 2010 Asian Games silver medallist and defending champion Kavita Raut, Monika Athare, Priyanka Singh Patel, Monika Raut, Rohini Raut,

Vijaymala Patil and Manisha Salunkhe. The men’s and women’s half marathon races offer R 1.25 lakh each to the winning athlete and Rs 75,000 to runner-up.