Rajkot: Naman Ojha's unbeaten ton helped Madhya Pradesh defeat Uttar Pradesh by eight wickets in a Vijay Hazare Group D match here yesterday.

Electing to bowl, Madhya Pradesh bundled out Uttar Pradesh for a modest 211 in 46.2 overs at the Saurashtra Cricket Association stadium. MP chased the target in 39.1

UP had a shaky start with skipper Suresh Raina, who promoted himself to open the innings, departing on 1. Prashant Gupta also went back to pavilion on 10.

Umang Sharma (50) and Akashdeep Nath (67) struck half centuries and helped Uttar Pradesh cross the 200-run mark.

Ishwar Pandey, P M Datey, C Sakar and Jalaj Saxena bagged two wickets each. Chasing 212, MP lost Saxena, who failed to open his account.

However Naman Ojha added 78 runs for the second wicket with R M Patidar (33).

He scored 114 off 122 balls, hitting 12 fours and two sixes and shared an unbroken 125 run stand for the third wicket with Harpreet Singh (63) as the duo guided MP to a big win.

Brief Scores: Uttar Pradesh 211 all out off 46.3 overs (Akashdeep 67, Umang Sharma 50, P M Datey 2-32, Jalaj Saxena 2-33) Madhya Pradesh 212 for 2 off 39.1 overs (Naman Ojha 114 not out, Harpreet Singh 63 not out).