Virat Kohli rested for Sri Lanka T20 series, Pawan Negi included

Feb 01, 2016, 19:58 IST | PTI

New Delhi: India's in-form vice-captain Virat Kohli was on Monday rested from the upcoming Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka as selectors included all-rounder Pawan Negi in the 15-member squad for the three-match rubber, beginning February 9.

Kohli was in supreme form in the just-concluded T20 series in Australia, where he scored 199 runs at an average of 199 with three half-centuries. 

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. File Pic/Getty Images

The world number one in ICC T20 rankings, Kohli has played 10 one-dayers and five T20s apart from four Test matches from the month of October to end of January.

The swashbuckling right-hander's break seems to have been timed to keep him fresh for the World T20 coming up next month in India.

Taking his place in the side for the short series is Negi, a rookie all-rounder Negi, who has played under Mahendra Singh Dhoni for the Chennai Super Kings in IPL.

His reasonably successful performances in the Mushtaq Ali and Deodhar Trophy events has earned him a spot as a cover for Ravindra Jadeja.

Manish Pandey has also been rewarded for his match-winning century in the Sydney ODI against Australia and has found a place in the squad announced by BCCI Secretary Anurag Thakur in a press release.

The selection panel chose to drop Rishi Dhawan, Gurkeerat Mann and Umesh Yadav from the squad. All three had struggled during the tour of Australia, failing to produce any notable performance.

Making a comeback was paceman Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who had missed the T20 series after injuring himself during the ODIs. 

The series will begin in Pune (February 9) followed by matches in Ranchi (February 12) and Visakhapatnam (February 14).

The selectors also named the squads for the women's limited-overs series against Sri Lanka. Mithali Raj will lead the side, which is on a high after scripting history by beating three-time world champions Australia in a T20 series for the first time.

Both their ODI and T20 series will be played in Ranchi. 

While the ODIs are scheduled for February 15, 17 and 19, the T20s will be held on February 22, 24 and 26.


T20I Team (Men): MS Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi. 

T20I (Women): Mithali Raj (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harmanpreet Kaur, Anuja Patil, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sushma Verma, Poonam Yadav, VR Vanitha, Sneh Rana, Thirushkamini MD, Ekta Bisht, Niranjana Nagarajan.

ODI Team (Women): Mithali Raj (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harmanpreet Kaur, Thirushkamini MD, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sushma Verma, Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Punam Raut, R Kalpana, Niranjana Nagarajan, Preeti Bose.

Go to top