Vivek Jain wins again!

Dec 09, 2011, 08:10 IST | Prakash Gosavi

Vivek Jain created a record by topping the Royal Western India Turf Club managing committee elections for the 8th consecutive year. Jain received 908 of the 1,111 valid votes registered at the 96th Annual General Meeting of the club held at the Mahalaxmi racecourse yesterday. Jain also created another record for the biggest margin as runner-up Jaydev Mody finished a distant second with 771 votes, while Champaklal Zaveri finished third with 742 votes.

Vivek Jain

Besides these three, the others elected to the nine-member Committee were Shyam Ruia (669), Ram Shroff (648), Shashi Chand Jain (633), Shivlal Daga (581), Khushroo Dhunjibhoy (578) & Geoffrey Nagpal (561). "I am touched by the faith shown by members and also my colleagues," Jain told MiD DAY after the result, "I take it as an endorsement of what I have done." However, he also made it clear that the year ahead would be tough.

"There are serious issues about the high betting tax and land lease which will expire in 2013. It's going to be a tough year, but this faith placed in me has renewed my resolve as well as energy." Jain was re-elected as club chairman, while Ruia was elected as chairman of the stewards.

Go to top