PrevNext

We got Kallis decision wrong, admit Test officials

Kallis was given out caught at short leg off spinner Saeed Ajmal by umpire Steve Davis but the batsman immediately sought a review, which went to television umpire Billy Bowden.

Jaques Kallis
Jaques Kallis questions the umpire in Cape Town

Replays showed the ball had not touched Kallis’ bat before looping to Azhar Ali.┬áThe sequence of events after that was not clear but after numerous replays Kallis was given out leg before wicket.

That was because the pitch map replay indicated the ball would have brushed the outside of his leg stump, which is within the area known as “umpire’s call” where the benefit of the doubt goes according to the decision made by the on-field umpire. The International Cricket Council issued a statement from Dubai acknowledging that “an honest error” had been made.

“The umpires followed usual umpiring principles in giving Kallis out lbw on umpire’s call. The review was for the batsman out caught. This is because the normal principle is that an appeal covers all forms of dismissal,” said the ICC.

“However the playing conditions state that when the third umpire observes that the batsman could be out by another mode of dismissal, the decision being reviewed using DRS should be as if the batsman had been originally given not out. Therefore in this instance Kallis, as the point of impact was umpire’s call, should not have been given out,” it read.

You May Like

MORE FROM JAGRAN

0 Comments

    Leave a Reply