Kallis was given out caught at short leg off spinner Saeed Ajmal by umpire Steve Davis but the batsman immediately sought a review, which went to television umpire Billy Bowden.
Replays showed the ball had not touched Kallis’ bat before looping to Azhar Ali. The sequence of events after that was not clear but after numerous replays Kallis was given out leg before wicket.
That was because the pitch map replay indicated the ball would have brushed the outside of his leg stump, which is within the area known as “umpire’s call” where the benefit of the doubt goes according to the decision made by the on-field umpire. The International Cricket Council issued a statement from Dubai acknowledging that “an honest error” had been made.
“The umpires followed usual umpiring principles in giving Kallis out lbw on umpire’s call. The review was for the batsman out caught. This is because the normal principle is that an appeal covers all forms of dismissal,” said the ICC.
“However the playing conditions state that when the third umpire observes that the batsman could be out by another mode of dismissal, the decision being reviewed using DRS should be as if the batsman had been originally given not out. Therefore in this instance Kallis, as the point of impact was umpire’s call, should not have been given out,” it read.
Pics: Prabhas, Tamannaah Bhatia at 'Baahubali 2' first look launch at MAMI
'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil' photos: Aishwarya, Anushka, Karan get candid at MAMI
Photos: Huma Qureshi, Neha Dhupia and other celebs at MAMI
Photos: Amy Jackson, Daisy Shah at Mumbai airport
Photos: Sridevi, Irrfan and other celebs at 'Mughal-e-Azam' screening