Next

World Cup 2015: ICC admits blunder in Anderson dismissal

World cricket body issues statement confirming that James Anderson should have stayed not out in England's 111-run loss to Australia

Melbourne: The International Cricket Council has taken the unusual step to confirm that James Anderson was incorrectly given out at the end of England’s defeat to Australia in their World Cup opener.

Anderson was adjudged run out in a farcical end to the match as both sets of players were left unsure by the ruling of on-field officials Aleem Dar and Kumar Dharmasena.

Umpire Aleem Dar raises his finger to adjudge England’s Taylor (left) out lbw as Anderson (right) fails to gain his ground and is later declared run out against Australia at the MCG on Saturday. Pics/Getty Images, AFP
Umpire Aleem Dar raises his finger to adjudge England’s Taylor (left) out lbw as Anderson (right) fails to gain his ground and is later declared run out against Australia at the MCG on Saturday. Pics/Getty Images, AFP

James Taylor had correctly reviewed an lbw decision, but replays also showed that Anderson had been caught short of his ground and Dharmasena gave him out.

The ICC revealed in a statement, issued just over an hour after the game, that the ball should have been called dead and that they had met with the England management to confirm the error.

“Following Australia’s 111-run victory over England in the Group A ICC Cricket World Cup clash at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday night, the Playing Control Team (PCT) met and reviewed the final ball of the game which resulted in James Anderson being given run out,” the statement read.

“Article 3.6a of Appendix 6 of the Decision Review System (DRS) Playing Conditions states that the ball should have been deemed dead when the batsman (James Taylor) was given out leg before wicket (lbw). No further runs or dismissals were possible.”

England's James Taylor and James Anderson (right) speak to umpire Kumar Dharmasena.
England's James Taylor and James Anderson (right) speak to umpire Kumar Dharmasena

Australia opener Aaron Finch, who hit a match-winning century, admitted the hosts had no idea of the rule themselves.

“We had no idea what was going on,” he said.

“We appealed for an lbw, we appealed for a run-out. We would’ve taken anything at the time. I still don’t know the rule to be honest. Maybe it was a dead-ball, but I haven’t seen the rule.” 

Replaying the farcical dismissal
Facing Josh Hazlewood, James Taylor was struck on the pad and set off for a leg bye as the ball trickled towards Glenn Maxwell at gully. Hazlewood and Australia’s close fielders launched an appeal for lbw and umpire Aleem Dar raised his finger. Maxwell fired a throw at the stumps at the striker’s end, hitting the target. Taylor reviewed the lbw decision and replays showed the ball to be sliding down the leg side. Square-leg umpire Kumar Dharmasena then asked the third umpire Billy Bowden to review the run-out chance. Anderson was found to be short of his ground and was given out to end the match. Taylor protested, and rightfully so, given the Playing Conditions for the Cricket World Cup dictates the ball should have been deemed dead when umpire Dar raised his finger. Anderson should have been given not out and Taylor would have again been on strike on 98 not out. 
-- IANS

Brief scores
Australia 342-9 in 50 overs (A Finch 135, G Maxwell 66, G Bailey 55; S Finn 5-71) beat England 231 in 41.5 overs (J Taylor 98*, C Woakes 37; M Marsh 5-33) by 111 runs

You May Like

MORE FROM JAGRAN

0 Comments

    Leave a Reply