Who are the greatest batsmen in the history of IPL?

05 April,2022 10:40 PM IST |  Mumbai  |  BrandMedia

The Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League, also known as Tata IPL 2022, is currently running its 15th season. This t20 format cricket conducted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India is adored by most cricket enthusiasts. Since the beginning of IPL, 2008, many teams have joined, and many have left too, and every year we were left with powerful innings played by the IPL batting orders.

Here we will analyze the greatest batsmen in the history of the IPL.

  1. Chris Gayle

West Indies player Gayle has scored over 11000 runs in his IPL history. He holds the record for having the highest individual score in IPL. He's one of the greatest knocks of 175 runs against Pune Warriors while playing under Royal Challengers Bangalore is widely remembered by the fans. He scored 608 and 733 runs in IPL 2011 and 2012 and became the owner of Orange cap twice successively. Gayle played in three different teams, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Punjab Kings.

  1. Virat Kohli

Since the beginning of IPL 2008, Virat Kohli has played for RCB. Later in 2013, Virat became the captain of this team and led them in over 140 matches. In his IPL career, he has scored a total of 6336 runs. Retained by RCB for 15 crores in TATA IPL, Virat Kohli earned the Orange Cap for 973 runs in 2016 IPL.

"Virat Kohli actually changed the perception completely that 30 is the new 50 in t20 cricket. He was averaging 50 for a long time," said Aakash Chopra during an interview to Betway.

Just after Chris Gayle, Virat owns the record for most 100s in IPL. He has 5 centuries and 42 half-centuries. This Indian batsman has led his team RCB in a total of 13 seasons; though RCB did not achieve the title in any season, Virat has been one of the most outstanding batsmen in the record of IPL.

  1. Rohit Sharma

Rohit started playing in 2008 under Deccan Chargers, and later in 2011, he joined Mumbai Indians. As a captain, Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in IPL with 5-time champions. In his Ipl career, he has scored a total of 5652 runs. In T20 cricket, Rohit, also known as 'hitman' is the most gifted batsman. In Ipl cricket, he has a strike rate of 130.38 with a century and 40 half-centuries.

  1. David Warner

The left-handed Aussie batsman has played over 143 matches in the history of Ipl, with over 5400 runs to his name. Under his excellent captaincy skills, Sunrisers Hyderabad gained the cup too. IPL crowns their best batsman of the season with Orange Cap, and David Warner has worn it more than anyone else. He took the cap home three times, in 2015, 2017, and 2019. Warner achieved 4 centuries and 50 half-centuries in his IPL career.

  1. Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan, also addressed as Gabbar, has been one of the best openers since the beginning of the IPL journey. In a total of 193 matches, Dhawan scored 5827 runs with a strike rate of 126.78. Dhawan achieved two centuries and forty-four half-centuries with a total of 125

over-boundaries and 659 boundaries till now. Currently, in TATA IPL 2022, Dhawan is playing for Punjab Kings.

life and style
Related Stories