15th Mumbai Film Festival announces its panel of jury

Sep 04, 2013, 09:28 IST | The Hitlist Team

With the buzz around the Mumbai Film Festival growing with each passing year, the just-announced list of jury members for the festival's 15th edition has raised expectations even further

Featuring a heady mix of some of the finest filmmakers, actors and connoisseurs, the fest is set to be bigger come October.

Nathalie Baye Bruce Beresford
Nathalie Baye and Bruce Beresford

Heading the International Competition jury, as the President will be director Bruce Beresford, whose 1989 film Driving Miss Daisy won the Academy Award for the best film.

French actress Nathalie Baye, who has worked with the likes of Godard and Truffaut, is also a part of the jury. There is Masato Harada too, renowned Japanese actor-director of The Last Samurai fame and Konkana Sen Sharma. The India Gold 2013 competition section will have Academy Award winning Iranian director Asghar Farhadi heading the jury panel as President. By his side will be Siddiq Barmark (Osama, 2004), winner of an Academy Award nomination.

More names on this list include acclaimed British actor-director Waris Hussein of Doctor Who and Passage to India fame, Jill Bilcock (Australian film editor and Academy Award nominee for Moulin Rouge) and Roger Garcia, the Executive Director of the prestigious Hong Kong International Film Festival, film critic and an authority on Asian Cinema. The festival will kick off on October 17. 

Related News

    Go to top