A statistical view of IPL

Apr 04, 2012, 08:20 IST | Rajneesh Gupta

Rajneesh Gupta brings you a statistical view of Twenty20 cricket's greatest show � the Indian Premier League

2 No of times Chennai Super Kings have won the tournament. They won 2010 and 2011 editions. Rajasthan Royals (2008) and Deccan Chargers (2009) are the only other sides to win the tournament.

Mumbai Indians’ Lasith Malinga celebrates the wicket of Delhi Daredevils’ David Warner during the 2011 IPL. PIC/AFP


4 No of times Suresh Raina has crossed 400 runs in an IPL tournament — he’s the only player to aggregate 400 runs in each of four IPL editions.

6 No of man of the match awards won by Chris Gayle in 2011 edition — the most by any player in a single edition of IPL.

6 No of batsmen who failed to open their account in Kochi Tuskers Kerala’s innings against Deccan Chargers at Kochi in 2011. Ishant Sharma accounted for four of them.

6.03 R Ashwin’s economy (runs per over) — the best in IPL among all bowlers with 10 overs.

7 No of consecutive wins registered by Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011 edition — the most by any side.

7 No of ducks recorded by Shane Warne in IPL — the most by any batsman

8 No of consecutive matches lost by Kolkata Knight Riders in 2009 — the most by any side.

9 Hat-tricks or three-in-three. Yuvraj Singh and Amit Mishra accounted for two!

11 No of wickets that have fallen on the first ball of the match. Brendon McCullum being the only batsman to suffer this fate twice.

11 No of man of the match awards won by Yusuf Pathan in IPL — the most by any player.

13 No of sixes hit by Brendon McCullum during his innings of 158 in the first ever IPL game (between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Bangalore in 2008) — the most by any batsman.

17 No of balls taken by Adam Gilchrist to race to his 50 while playing for Deccan Chargers against Delhi Daredevils at Centurion in 2009 — the fastest fifty
in IPL

18 No of hundreds scored in the IPL. Twelve of them have been scored by overseas players and only six by Indians.

19 No of fours hit by Kings XI Punjab’s Paul Valthaty during his innings of 120 not out against Chennai Super Kings in 2011 — the most by any batsman.

21 No of innings taken by Shaun Marsh to complete 1,000 runs in IPL — the quickest for any batsman.

31 No of catches taken by Suresh Raina in the field — the most by any player.

37 No of balls taken by Yusuf Pathan to reach to his hundred for Rajasthan Royals against Mumbai Indians at Brabourne in 2010 — the fastest in IPL history.

37 No of runs conceded by Kochi Tuskers Kerala’s Prasanth Parameswaran against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Bangalore in 2011. Chris Gayle scored 36 of them (with one being extra).  

42 No of four wicket hauls taken by bowlers in IPL. Anil Kumble has taken the most (3).

57 No of century partnerships, of which Chennai Super Kings have 11, 8 each for Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab, 7 each for Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians, 4 each for Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers, one for Kochi Tuskers Kerala and none for Pune Warriors India.

59 Runs conceded by RP Singh and Siddarth Trivedi in a match in 2008 and 2011 respectively — most by any bowler.

60 Number of sixes conceded by Piyush Chawla off his bowling — most by any player in IPL.

62 Number of matches played by Subramaniam Badrinath and Suresh Raina — most in the IPL.  In fact these two have appeared in each and every game played by Chennai Super Kings!

64 Number of wickets taken by RP Singh in 56 IPL games — the most by any bowler.

82 No of sixes hit by Adam Gilchrist in IPL — most by any batsman

86 No of maidens bowled in the IPL. Praveen Kumar has bowled the most —7.

87 Kochi Tuskers Kerala’s score of 87-2 after 6 overs against Rajasthan Royals at Indore in 2011 is the highest team score in Powerplay overs in IPL.
158 Runs scored by Brendon McCullum (for Kolkata Knight Riders against Royal Challengers Bangalore) without being dismissed in the first ever IPL game — is still the highest score by any batsman in tournament’s history.

169.60 Virender SehwaG’S strike-rate —  highest for any batsman facing at least 100 balls in IPL.

176 Fours conceded by  RP Singh off his bowling — most by any bowler in IPL.

206 Runs added by Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh for the second wicket for Kings XI Punjab against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011 — the first and only double century partnership in IPL.

217 for 7 Highest successful chase in IPL, accomplished by Rajasthan Royals against Deccan Chargers at Hyderabad in 2008.

246 for 5 Highest total in IPL history, achieved by Chennai Super Kings against Rajasthan Royals at Chennai in 2010.

618 Runs scored by Sachin Tendulkar in 2010 edition — most by any batsman in a single edition.

1813 Runs scored by Suresh Raina — most by any batsman in an IPL career.

2919 No of wickets that have fallen in IPL.

2352 No of sixes hit in IPL

6640 No of fours hit in IPL.

Go to top