ABVP banks on Anna

Sep 06, 2011, 08:28 IST | Vatsala Shrangi

Congress-backed NSUI chooses to keep mum on the issue

Congress-backed NSUI chooses to keep mum on the issue

Even as the two rival parties - Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and National Students Union of India (NSUI) ´┐Żare trying hard to make a clean sweep at the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) polls this year, the underlying factor at the election propaganda talks a lot about social activist Anna Hazare.

Poll-play: NSUI members perform street play named 'Pehchan Kaun',
in New Delhi on Monday. Pic/mid day

While the ABVP is banking on the anti-corruption movement, keeping its crusader Anna Hazare the focal point of their campaigning for the September 9 polls, the Congress-led NSUI is nowhere mentioning the Gandhian
in its campaign.

NSUI members have turned to street plays, titled Pehchan Kaun, as their medium of publicity. Their team is performing in various colleges. The theme is questioning the ABVP of failures during their tenure.

"We have opted for street plays as they serve the purpose of giving out a strong message. We have faith in our parliament and therefore Anna Hazare is not on our agenda. Through the plays we are questioning the outgoing DUSU of their accountability to students. They have not been held accountable for the funds allocated to them as they conducted no events or cultural programmes during their tenure," said Shahnawaz Khan, national secretary, NSUI.

ABVP candidates are doing the rounds of colleges, distributing pamphlets speaking about their agenda and the reforms they have brought since they came to power last year.

"Our sole agenda this year is to focus on the issue of corruption. The movement has been a big success and Hazare is our hero. We will not leave any stone unturned for removing this evil from our system. We are sure of a win this year as well," said Rohit Chahal, state secretary, ABVP.

Know them?
As per the final candidature, Neha Singh, Vikas Chaudhry, Vikas Yadav and Deepak Bansal are the four names from ABVP. On the other hand, Ajay Chhikara, Bhupendra Chaudhry, Parag Sharma, and Ashish Chaudhry from NSUI will contest for the seats of president, vice-president, secretary and joint secretary.

Go to top