Advantage England as India stagger at 117/7

Published: Nov 25, 2012, 18:26 IST | Agencies |

Monty Panesar's second career 10-wicket haul had India reeling at 117/7 at the close of play on the third day of the second cricket Test against England at the Wankhede Stadium here Sunday


India finished the third day of play at 117/7 against England, taking a lead of 31 runs in the second cricket Test match here at the Wankhede Stadium Sunday
Earlier, India bowled out the visitors for 413, after they resumed the day at 178/2. Skipper Alistair Cook (122) and Kevin Pietersen (186) scored centuries for England.
Ojha took his fifth five-wicket haul of his career as he ended with figures of 5/143. Ashwin and Harbhajan ran through the tail-enders taking two wickets each.
Coming out to bat in their second innings, India looked to stave off the challenge of the English spinners on a turning track.
But Panesar struck for England as he picked up opener Virender Sehwag for 9, who is playing his 100th Test, with the score reading 30 for no loss. Thereon, India consistently kept losing wickets with none of the batsmen, apart from Gambhir and Ashwin, reaching double figures.

Monty Panesar
Monty Panesar

Cheteshwar Pujara (6), Sachin Tendulkar (8), Virat Kohli (7), Yuvraj (8), Dhoni (6) all perished without making an impact as the Indian batting order collapsed.
At stumps, Gautam Gambhir and Harbhajan Singh were batting on 53 and 1, respectively. 
Panesar ended the day with 5/61, to add to his first innings tally of 5/129, while Swann had figures of 2/39.
The scoreboard at the close of play on Day 3 of the second cricket Test between India and England at the Wankhede Stadium here Sunday:
India (First innings) 327
England (First innings)
Alistair Cook c Dhoni b Ashwin 122
Nick Compton c Sehwag b Ojha 29
Jonathan Trott lbw b Ojha 0
Kevin Pietersen c Dhoni b Ojha 186
Jonny Bairstow c Gambhir b Ojha 9
Samit Patel c Kohli b Ojha 26
Matt Prior run out (Dhoni/Kohli) 21
Stuart Broad c Pujara b Harbhajan Singh 6
Graeme Swann not out 1
James Anderson lbw b Harbhajan Singh 2
Monty Panesar c Khan b Ashwin 4
Extras (b 4, lb 2, w 1) 7
Total (all out in 121.3 overs) 413
Fall of wickets: 1-66 (Compton, 31.4 overs), 2-68 (Trott, 33.6), 3-274 (Cook, 86.6), 4-298 (Bairstow, 94.3), 5-357 (Patel, 108.4), 6-382 (Pietersen, 112.4), 7-406 (Prior, 119.3), 8-406 (Broad, 120.1), 9-408 (Anderson, 120.6)
Ravichandran Ashwin 42.3-6-145-2
Pragyan Ojha 40-6-143-5
Zaheer Khan 15-4-37-0
Harbhajan Singh 21-1-74-2
Yuvraj Singh 3-0-8-0
India (Second innings)
Gautam Gambhir batting 53
Virender Sehwag c Swann b Panesar 9
Cheteshwar Pujara c Bairstow b Swann 6
Sachin Tendulkar lbw b Panesar 8
Virat Kohli c Root b Swann 7
Yuvraj Singh c Bairstow b Panesar 8
Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Trott b Panesar 6
Ravichandran Ashwin c Patel b Panesar 11
Harbhajan Singh batting 1
Extras (b 6, lb 2) 8
Total (Seven wickets in 33 overs) 117
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Sehwag, 7.5 overs), 2-37 (Pujara, 8.5), 3-52 (Tendulkar, 15.3), 4-65 (Kohli, 20.2), 5-78 (Yuvraj Singh, 23.1), 6-92 (Dhoni, 27.3), 7-110 (Ashwin, 31.4)
Jamesh Anderson 4-1-9-0
Monty Panesar 16-2-61-5
Graeme Swann 13-4-39-2
Match details:
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Tony Hill (New Zealand)
TV umpire: S. Ravi
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire: Paschim Pathak

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK