ADVANTAGE India: Visitors 100/2 after dismissing NZ for 192 on Day 1

Feb 14, 2014, 11:13 IST | AFP

Shikhar Dhawan scores an unbeaten fifty after Ishant Sharma's brilliant six-wicket haul; India trail New Zealand by 92 runs at stumps on Day 1 of the second Test at Wellington

Wellington: A career-best six-wicket haul by Ishant Sharma put India firmly in charge at stumps on the opening day of the second Test against New Zealand in Wellington on Friday.

New Zealand were rolled for 192 in their first innings and at the close India were 100-2 with Shikhar Dhawan on 71 and Sharma, playing the nighwatchman role, on three.

Shikhar Dhawan

Murali Vijay was the first wicket to fall, caught behind by BJ Watling off Tim Southee for two. He tried to pull out of the way of a rising delivery but it cut back sharply to skim his gloves on the way to the keeper.

Cheteshwar Pujara was out 10 minutes before stumps for 19 when rapped on the pads by Trent Boult.

India's 100 has come from 28 overs as the wicket lost its early feistiness in the late afternoon sun.

Ishant Sharma. Pic/ AFP

New Zealand struggled through 52.5 overs for their 192 with Sharma taking 6-51, following another six-wicket bag in the first Test, while Mohammed Shami finished with 4-70.

New Zealand had expected a troubled ride from the moment Brendon McCullum lost the toss and they were predictably sent into bat first on the hard, green wicket.

Peter Fulton and Hamish Rutherford, who were both struggling for runs, cautiously negotiated the first half hour until the introduction of Sharma to the attack turned the game immediately.

In the space of 14 balls, mixing up deliveries of swing and bounce, he reduced New Zealand from 23 without loss to 23-3 and they never recovered with the innings coming to an end shortly after tea.

Only lusty hitting at the tail by debutant Jimmy Neesham and Southee lifted the total close to the 200 mark, after New Zealand at one stage were 133-7.

All-rounder Neesham had seven fours in his 33 while Southee included three sixes and a four in his 32.

Sharma's opening burst claimed Rutherford (12), Fulton (13) and new cap Tom Latham, deputising for New Zealand's unavailable star performer Ross Taylor, who was gone for nought after facing eight balls.

Shami came back for his second spell to remove McCullum for eight to have New Zealand 50-4 at lunch.

Corey Anderson (24) and Watling (nought) went soon after lunch before Kane Williamson, who had been at the crease since the fall of the first wicket, and Neesham compiled New Zealand's best partnership of 47 for the seventh wicket.

Williamson was given out on 15 and 23 only to be recalled both times when replays showed Zaheer Khan and then Sharma had claimed his wicket off no balls.


New Zealand 1st innings

P. Fulton lbw I. Sharma 13

H. Rutherford c Vijay b I. Sharma 12

K. Williamson c R. Sharma b M. Shami 47

T. Latham c Dhoni b I. Sharma 0

B. McCullum c Jadeja b M. Shami 8

C. Anderson c Kohli b I. Sharma 24

B. Watling c R. Sharma b I. Sharma 0

J. Neesham c Dhoni b M. Shami 33

T. Southee c Vijay b I. Sharma 32

N. Wagner not out 5

T. Boult c Pujara b M. Shami 2

Extras: (lb2, w8, nb6) 16

Total: (all out; 52.5 overs) 192

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Rutherford), 2-26 (Fulton), 3-26 (Latham), 4-45 (McCullum), 5-84 (Anderson), 6-86 (Watling), 7-133 (Williamson), 8-165 (Neesham), 9-184 (Southee), 10-192 (Boult)

Bowling: Khan 17-3-57-0 (1w, 2nb), M. Shami 16.5-4-70-4 (2w, 1nb), I. Sharma 17-3-51-6 (3nb), Jadeja 2-1-12-0

India 1st innings

S. Dhawan not out 71

M. Vijay c Watling b Southee 2

C. Pujara lbw Boult 19

I. Sharma not out 3

Extras: (b4, w1) 5

Total: (two wickets; 28 overs) 100

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Vijay), 2-89 (Pujara)

To bat: V. Kohli, R. Sharma, A. Rahane, M. Dhoni, R. Jadeja, Z. Khan, M. Shami

Bowling: Boult 9-4-18-1, Southee 7-0-20-1, Wagner 7-0-36-0, Anderson 3-0-14-0, Neesham 2-0-8-0 (1w)

Toss: India

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV umpire: Derek Walker (NZL)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Go to top