Al-Barkaat are Giles Shield Elite Division champions

Feb 10, 2017, 08:07 IST | Binaisha M Surti

Bowlers deliver as IES VN Sule Guruji are beaten by Kurla outfit to claim U-14 inter-school title at MCA-BKC ground

Al Barkaat players celebrate their win over IES VN Sule Guruji in the Giles Shield Elite Division final at MCA-BKC ground in Bandra yesterday. Pic/SURESH KARKERA

Riding on spectacular performances from bowlers Anas Malik (7-31), Anurag Singh (5-20) and batsmen Ankit Yadav (88) and Himanshu Singh (79*), Al-Barkaat MMI English School (Kurla) beat IES VN Sule Guruji School (Dadar) by an innings and 121 runs to emerge champions of the Giles Shield Elite Division U-14 tournament organised by the Mumbai Schools Sports Association at MCA-BKC ground yesterday.

The Kurla outfit bowled out the Dadar team for 69 to wrap up the final on Day Three.

IES VN Sule Guruji players pose with the runners-up trophy. Pic/SURESH KARKERA

IES VN Sule Guruji, resuming on their overnight score of 32-5, looked to delay the inevitable. But their hopes were dashed when they lost three quick wickets and later were bowled out for a paltry score. Al Barkaat’s Anurag claimed a fifer. The left-arm spinner was well supported by leg-spinner Adil Sayyed (2-17).

Al Barkaat’s Anurag Singh, who finished with figures of 5-20. Pic/SURESH KARKERA

VN Sule Guruji’s Atharva Bhosale with the Best Bowler trophy. Pic/SURESH KARKERA

Earlier, on the second day, Al-Barkaat posted a first innings score of 276, after bowling out the Dadar outfit for 86.

Former Indian Test cricketer Paras Mhambrey interacts with the players during the post-match presentation ceremony yesterday. Pic/SURESH KARKERA

Former India Test pacer Paras Mhambrey graced the occasion as chief guest, while Iqbal Shaikh (ex-managing committee member of MCA) was the guest of honour. Vinod Deshpande (MCA vice president) and Nadim Memon (MSSA’s honorary cricket secretary) too were present to present the awards.

Brief scores

IES VN Sule Guruji: 86 & 69 (Anurag Singh 5-20) lost to Al-Barkaat: 276 (Ankit Yadav 88, Himanshu Singh 79*, Atharva Bhosale 7-96) by an innings and 121 runs.

Go to top