An ode to a legend

Apr 11, 2014, 08:40 IST | Kartiki Nitin Lawate

The fifth edition of the Raja Paranjape Festival will include performances, an award function as well as film screenings

To mark the birth anniversary (April 20) of the late actor-director Raja Paranjape, the Raja Paranjape Pratishthan has been organising a festival for the last five years.

Events held at previous editions of the Raja Paranjpe Festival
Events held at previous editions of the Raja Paranjpe Festival

This year, veteran Hindi and Marathi film actors Ramesh Dev and Seema Dev have been selected for the Raja Paranjape Lifetime Achievement Award, while actor Swapnil Joshi, director and cinematographer Mahesh Limaye, actors Gouri Gadgil and Kishor Kadam will be conferred with the Raja Paranjape Tarunai Sanman. It will be given out on April 14, which also marks the opening of the Raja Paranjape Festival.

The inaugural function will be held at Bharat Natya Mandir at 5 pm at the hands of Rohini Hattangadi. She will also give away the awards. It will be followed by an interaction with the young achievers.

Archana Rane, president of the Pratishthan and the granddaughter of Paranjape, says, "The highlights of the festival will include Classical and semi-Classical music, Natyasangeet, Abhanga and songs from the films directed by Raja Paranjape such as Lakhachi Gosht."

Her husband Ajay Rane, states that the main aim of the event is to make youngsters understand the movies made by Raja Paranjape.

Events held at previous editions of the Raja Paranjpe Festival
Events held at previous editions of the Raja Paranjpe Festival 

"We conduct musical events all around the year to generate funds and then we host this festival. We want the young generation to know about the legend. We will be screening seven movies of Raja Paranjape, and this time, there will be more musical events as well," he informs.

Some of the films that will be screened include Lakhachi Gosht, Oon-Paus, Suvasini, Pudhache Pavul, Pathlag, Jagachya Pathiwar and Pedgav Che Shahane. It will be held at the National Film Archives, Prabhat Road.

The festival's various programmes will be presented by Chaitanya Kulkarni, Kalyani Pande-Salunkhe, Swarda Gokhale, Ajay Atre, Vikram Bhat, Anay Gadgil and Sanjeev Mehendale.

All the programmes are open for public and are free of cost. Passes will be available at Bharat Natya Mandir at Sadashiv Peth from April 12 (9 am to 12 pm and 5 pm
to 8 pm).

From April 14 to 20
At Bharat Natya Mandir, Sadashiv Peth
Call 8308308686

Related News

Go to top