Anindith Reddy named National Motorsports Person of 2017

Mar 11, 2018, 23:21 IST | IANS

Hyderabad's Anindith Reddy was crowned ‘FMSCI National MotorSports Person of the Year 2017 at a glittering function

Anindith Reddy
Anindith Reddy. Pic/YouTube

Hyderabad's Anindith Reddy was crowned ‘FMSCI National MotorSports Person of the Year 2017 at a glittering function here on Sunday. The 26-year-old, who has been scorching the domestic circuit since his debut in 2014, had a spectacular run last season, scoring a unique double and winning the MRF FF 1600 and the Euro JK 17 titles, in the two National Racing Championships, according to a release.

FIA world motor sport council member Gautam Singhania and its president Akbar Ebrahim presented the award to him in the presence of the country's foremost racers, rallyists and officials.

"I would like to thank the FMSCI for honouring me with this award, as also for creating various platforms for young motor sports enthusiasts in the country to sharpen their skills," Anindith said.

KD Madan, a former FMSCI president and K1000 champion, was conferred the FMSCI Lifetime Achievement Award for his immense contribution to the sport in the country.

The country's outstanding performers during the year were felicitated at the FMSCI Awards Nite, including Arjun Maini, Jehan Daruvala, Aditya Patel, Armaan Ebrahim, Gaurav Gill and Abhilash PG.

A number of women, who have been doing well at the national level, were also among the awardees, led by Aishwarya PM, Rhyana Bee A, Kalyani V Potekar and Mira Erda.

In the two-wheeler categories, Amarnath Menon (racing; Super Sport Indian 300-400cc), Jagan K (racing; Super Sport Indian 165cc); R Nataraj (rally), Sanjay Kumar (rally; super bike), Vinit Sharma (rally; Super Sport 550cc), Jagan K (drag racing; 4-Stroke up to 165cc), Rameez Khan (drag racing; 4-Stroke Above 1051cc), Hemanth Muddappa (drag racing; Stroke Unrestricted), Rugved D Barguje (dirt track; Group A upto 500cc - Open); Harith Noah (SuperCross; Class 1 - SX1 - Gp A Up to 250Cc {2Stroke} & 500C {4-Stroke}) were some of the prominent winners.

Aaroh Ravindra (Senior Max), Yash Aradhya (Junior Max) and Arjun Rajiv (Micro Max) were the champions in the Meco National Rotax Max Championship.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Mid-day accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/ reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content in its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever

Trending Video

DISCLAIMER: mid-day and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Yuvraj Singh's best moments in cricket: From the Natwest final to 6 sixes in an over

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK