Australian Open: All that you need to know...

Jan 13, 2014, 12:38 IST | Agencies

Here's some information, facts and figures that you may need to know regarding the year 2014's first major Grand Slam that gets underway in Melbourne today

Number of entries...
Men’s singles: 128 (104 direct entries based on rankings, 16 qualifiers, eight wildcards)
Women’s singles: 128 (108 direct entries, 12 qualifiers, (eight wildcards).
Men's doubles: 64 pairs (seven wildcards)
Women's doubles: 64 pairs (seven wildcards)
Mixed doubles: 32 pairs (seven wildcards)

Reigning champions
World No 2 Novak Djokovic (Serbia) and World No 2 Victoria Azarenka (Belarus)

The challengers men…
World No 1 Rafael Nadal (Spain) and World No 3 David Ferrer (Spain)
World No 4 Andy Murray (Great Britain) and World No 6 Roger Federer (Switzerland)

World No 1 Serena Williams (USA) and No 3 Maria Sharapova (Russia)

The courts...
Australian Open 

Rod Laver Arena: The centre court, named after the Australian tennis great, seats almost 15,000 spectators and was one of the first tennis courts to feature a retractable roof.

Hisense Arena: The second court, opened in 2000, also has a retractable roof and can has a capacity of approximately 10,500.

Weather conditions: Given the fluctuating weather conditions in Melbourne, the two prominent courts at the Australian Open — the Rod Laver and the Hisense Arenas — both have retractable roofs which may be utilised during the tournament as per the organisers’ Extreme Heat Policy (EHP).

The Trophies...
The Australian Open cups
The men's and women's cups 

Money matters...
Total prize money: AUD 33 million

Singles champions: AUD 2.65 million

Singles Runner-up: AUD 1.32 million

Doubles winner: AUD 520,000

Doubles runner-up: AUD 260,000

Mixed doubles winner: AUD 135,400

Mixed doubles runner-up: AUD 67,750

Indians at the Australian Open 2014...

* Rd 1: Somdev Devvarman vs Feliciano Lopez (World No 26)

Men’s Doubles
* Rd 1: Rohan Bopanna & Aisam-ul-Haq vs Rameez Junaid & Adrian Mannarino

* Rd 1: Divij Sharan & Yen-Hsun Lu vs Johan Brunstrom & Frederik Nielsen

* Rd 1: Leander Paes & Radek Stepanek vs Lukas Dlouhy & Lukas Rosol

* Rd 1: Yuki Bhambri & Michael Venus vs Roberto Bautista Agut & Daniel Gimeno-Traver

* Rd 1: Mahesh Bhupathi & Rajeev Ram vs Santiago Giraldo & Joao Sousa

Women’s doubles
Sania Mirza* Sania Mirza & Cara Black vs Tammi Patterson & Arina Rodionova

Mixed doubles draws to be announced later

Go to top