Where Barca pair Neymar and Suarez and EPL stars finished in Ballon d'Or vote

Updated: 14 December, 2016 10:04 IST | mid-day online correspondent |

Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo was named on Monday as the winner of the 2016 Ballon d'Or for the fourth time,. Find out where the likes of Manchester United pair Ibrahimovic and Pogba, and Barcelona pair Neymar and Suarez finished on the voting list

Luis Suarez (left), Neymar and Lionel Messi (right)
Luis Suarez (left), Neymar and Lionel Messi (right) 

Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo was named on Monday as the winner of the 2016 Ballon d'Or for the fourth time, second only to five-time recipient Lionel Messi.

The Portuguese international's first golden ball came in 2008, before Manchester United sold him to the Blancos for $132 million.

Ronaldo scored 51 goals in 54 games this year while leading Real Madrid to their record 11th Champions League trophy and Portugal to its first European Championship.

Cristiano Ronaldo posing with the Ballon d'Or. Pic/ AFP
Cristiano Ronaldo posing with the Ballon d'Or. Pic/ AFP

The 31-year-old striker was not on hand for the ceremony in Paris, as Real Madrid are in Japan this week for the semifinals of the Club World Cup.

Messi, whose Barça squad won La Liga and the Copa del Rey came second in the voting for the Ballon d'Or, followed by Antoine Griezmann of Champions League finalist Atletico Madrid.

But what about the much-vaunted English Premier League stars and the La Liga stalwarts like Luis Suarez and Neymar. Where did they finish in the vote?

Barcelona mates Suarez and Neymar finished 4th and 5th in the voting. 

Leicester City forward Riyad Mahrez was the top-ranked Premier League player, finishing in the top 10 at seventh. His title-winning team-mate Jamie Vardy finished one place behind him at eighth.

Manchester United's maverick striker Zlatan Ibramhimovic finished 13th, while his club mate Paul Pogba, who arrived at Old Trafford in the summer for a world record fee, finished 14th.

Real Madrid had the most number of players in the top 17 -- 5.

Rankings for the 2016 Ballon d'Or after Cristiano Ronaldo won for the fourth time on Monday.

1. Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) - Real Madrid

2. Lionel Messi (ARG) - Barcelona

3. Antoine Griezmann (FRA) - Atletico Madrid

4. Luis Suarez (URU) - Barcelona

5. Neymar (BRA) - Barcelona

6. Gareth Bale (WAL) - Real Madrid

7. Riyad Mahrez (ALG) - Leicester

8. Jamie Vardy (ENG) - Leicester

9= Pepe (POR) - Real Madrid

9= Gianluigi Buffon (ITA) - Juventus

11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB) - Borussia Dortmund

12. Rui Patricio (POR) - Sporting Lisbon

13. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE) - Paris Saint-Germain then Manchester United

14= Paul Pobga (FRA) - Juventus then Manchester United

14= Arturo Vidal (CHI) - Bayern Munich

16. Robert Lewandowski (POL) - Bayern Munich

17= Dimitri Payet (FRA) - West Ham

17= Luka Modric (CRO) - Real Madrid

17= Toni Kroos (GER) - Real Madrid

First Published: 13 December, 2016 17:46 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK