Bhuvneshwar Kumar wins ICC People's Choice Award

Updated: Nov 06, 2014, 10:06 IST | IANS |

Medium pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has become only the fourth cricketer and the third Indian to win this year’s ICC People’s Choice Award

Dubai: India's medium pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar Wednesday won this year’s ICC People’s Choice Award.

He becomes only the fourth cricketer to win the prize after Sachin Tendulkar, who was the first-ever recipient in 2010, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012, and India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who won it last year.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Other nominees for this year’s award were England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa pacer Dale Steyn.

“First of all, I’d like to thank each and every one who has voted for me in the LG People's Choice Award. This award means a lot to me as I didn’t get it only for my individual performance but because of the love and support of my fans," said Bhuvneshwar.

“Where I am today is because of my parents and coaches, and whatever they taught me in life as a person. I’d also like to thank my teammates because without their support this won’t have been possible. So, thank you so much.”

This is the only ICC award, introduced in 2010, which is voted for by fans for their favourite player. Voting commenced Oct 8 and closed Oct 30.

The short-list was selected by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble, Jonathan Agnew, former England international, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK