BJP's Chandrakant Patil retains Pune division seat

Jun 26, 2014, 07:34 IST | A Correspondent

He won the graduates constituency seat by a margin of 2,380 votes, defeating NCP’s Sarang Patil

Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) sitting MLC Chandrakant Patil has retained his Pune division seat with a margin of 2,380 votes in the graduates constituency election, which was held on June 20. Patil received 61,453 votes, while his opponent, NCP contestant Sarang Patil, received 59,073 votes.

Meanwhile, Teachers Organisation’s Dattatray Sawant won the teachers constituency with 13,922 votes. After the thumping victory in the Lok Sabha elections, the BJP-Shiv Sena combine is looking at the legislative council’s elections as a preparation ground for the upcoming state assembly elections; and the ally brought victory to the combine in the Nagpur division seat.
The alliance, however, lost Aurangabad where Sharad Boralkar was fielded by Mahayuti.

The counting for the state council’s teachers and graduates constituency elections was started on Tuesday morning, and took almost 24 hours to finish due to the use of the ballot system, and not electronic voting machines (EVMs).

The graduate constituency of Pune division comprises graduate voters from Pune, Satara, Sangli, Kolhapur and Solapur districts.
The elected members’ tenure lasts six years.

Go to top