BJP to win MP, Rajasthan; hung assemblies in Delhi, Mizoram: Exit poll

Published: Dec 04, 2013, 19:26 IST | Agencies |

The BJP is expected to retain Madhya Pradesh with a massive mandate and wrest Rajasthan from the Congress, while falling short of a majority in Chhattisgarh. Delhi and Mizoram would see hung assemblies, according to exit poll projections of the assembly polls in the five states by India TV-CVoter.

According to the India TV-CVoter exit polls, in Chhattisgarh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) may be two seats short of a simple majority in the 90-member assembly.

In Rajasthan, the BJP is projected to win 130 seats of the total 199, while the ruling Congress would manage just 48 seats, it has projected. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) would win four seats, and the other parties 17 seats.

In 2008, the Congress had won 95 seats, the BJP 78, BSP six and others 20 seats.

Delhi assembly elections 2013
Voters wait in line outside a polling station for the Delhi state assembly election in New Delhi on December 4. Pic-AFP

In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP is projected to retain power with 128 of the total 230 seats. The Congress could win 92 seats, the BSP six seats and the others four seats.

In 2008, the BJP had won 143 seats, Congress 71, BSP seven and the other parties together nine seats.

In Chhattisgarh, the ruling BJP is likely to be short of simple majority. The BJP is projected to win 44 of the total 90 seats. The Congress is likely to win 41 seats, the BSP two seats and others three seats. In 2008, the BJP had won 50 seats, the Congress 38 seats, and others two seats.

In Delhi, the ruling Congress would be in for a rude shock.

According to India TV-CVoter exit polls (till 1 p.m.), the BJP is projected to win 29 of the 70 seats, the Congress 21, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) 16 seats, the BSP two seats, and others two seats.

In 2008, the Congress had won 43, the BJP 23 seats, the BSP had won two, and others had won two seats.

In Congress-ruled Mizoram, the ruling party is projected to win 19 seats of the total 40 seats. The Mizo National Front (MNF) plus Mizo People's Conference (MPC) is likely to win 14 seats, the Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) five seats, and others two seats.

In 2008, the Congress had won 32 seats, MNF plus MPC had won six, and ZNP had won two seats.

Counting of votes will take place Dec 8.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK