Board approves Ranji overhaul

Jul 17, 2012, 08:15 IST | Agencies

The Board of Control for Cricket in India yesterday approved the recommendations of the Sourav Ganguly-headed Special Committee on the revision of the Ranji Trophy format, under which 27 teams will be divided into three groups of nine sides each

The decisions were taken by the BCCI’s Working Committee meeting. The top three teams from Group A, B and C will qualify for the knockout stage. The inter-state tournament for under-22s will be referred to as the ‘A’ team’s tournament, and will feature cricketers in the under-25 age-group. The Board also allowed Chhattisgarh to participate in the under-16 inter-state tournament (Plate Group). The NKP Salve Challenger Trophy will feature the winners of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and the two teams would be picked by the senior selection committee.

Related News

    Go to top