Bolt, Farah tipped for top IAAF award

Oct 10, 2012, 08:11 IST | IANS

Bolt, Farah tipped for top IAAF award

Olympic champions Usain Bolt and Mo Farah are among the Olympic track and field stars nominated yesterday for the World Athlete of the Year award. The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), announced 10 nominees for each of the men’s and women’s categories. If Bolt wins, it would be the fourth time he has won the award in five years.

Usain Bolt

The nominees:
>> Men: Yohan Blake (Jamaica), Usain Bolt (Jamaica), Ashton Eaten (US), Mo Farah (Britain), Robert Harting (Germany), Kirani James (Grenada), Renaud Lavillenie (France), Aries Merritt (US), David Rudisha (Kenya), Christian Taylor (US).

>> Women: Valerie Adams (New Zealand), Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia), Jessica Ennis (Britain), Allyson Felix (US), Shelley-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica), Yelena Lashmanova (Russia), Sally Pearson (Australia), Brittney Reese (US), Sanya Richards-Ross (US), Barbora Spotakova (Czech Republic).

Indian challenge ends in Tashkent
Tashkent: The Indian challenge came to an end as Yuki Bhambri, Vishnu Vardhan and Sanam Singh fell in the first round of the $125,000 Tashkent ATP Challenger being played at the Olympic Tennis School here yesterday.

Eighth seed Karol Beck of Slovakia scored a 6-1, 6-3 win over Yuki Bhambri while Russia’s Igor Kunitsyn ended the run of Vishnu Vardhan 6-3, 6-4.

Go to top