Champions Trophy: A look at previous finals

Jun 03, 2013, 12:48 IST | AFP

This year's Champions Trophy in England and Wales that starts on Thursday is set to be the seventh and final edition of the 'mini World Cup'

Below AFP Sport looks back at the six previous finals of a competition that started life as the ICC Knockout in 1998.

1998: Dhaka: South Africa 248-6 bt West Indies 245 by 4 wkts

All-rounder Jacques Kallis took five wickets before the late Hansie Cronje, then South Africa's captain, scored an unbeaten 61 as the Proteas trumped a century by the West Indies' Philo Wallace.

2000: Nairobi: New Zealand 265-6 bt India 264-6 by 4 wkts

After several World Cup semi-final appearances, New Zealand's first appearance in a major ICC final saw them beat India with two balls to spare with all-rounder Chris Cairns, after overcoming a knee injury, making a decisive 102 not out.

2002: Colombo: Title shared by India and Sri Lanka

Playing in the monsoon season in Sri Lanka was always a risk and the hosts had to share the trophy with India after two attempts to complete the final were washed out by tropical storms.

2004: The Oval: West Indies 218-8 bt England 217 by 2 wkts

In the cold and gloom of an English autumn, Courtney Browne and Ian Bradshaw rescued the West Indies from near-certain defeat at 147 for eight with an unbroken ninth-wicket stand of 71.

2006: Mumbai: Australia 116-2 bt West Indies 138 by 8 wkts (D/L Method)

Australia finally won the one major trophy that had previously eluded them on the back of a disciplined bowling performance crowned by Shane Watson's unbeaten fifty.

2009: Centurion: Australia 206-4 bt New Zealand 200-9 by 6 wkts

Australia retained their title with something to spare in a tournament that ought to have been played in Pakistan a year earlier but was held over and moved because of security concerns. Off-spinner Nathan Hauritz took three wickets in the final before Watson sealed victory with an unbeaten hundred. 

Go to top