Champions Trophy: 'Suspended' Windies keeper Denesh Ramdin to miss India tie
West Indies suffered a setback to their Champions Trophy campaign after the ICC handed its wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin a two-match suspension for wrongly claiming a catch of Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq in their first match of the tournament.
West Indies wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin was today suspended for two ODIs and also fined 100 per cent of his match fee after he was found guilty of conduct contrary to the spirit of the game in an ICC hearing.
The ICC’s decision means that Ramdin will miss Tuesday’s Champions Trophy clash against India and the June 14 fixture against South Africa.
Ramdin was charged with wrongly claiming a catch of Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq in their first match of the tournament.
Ramdin had pleaded not guilty to the offence and appeared in an ICC hearing, where match referee Chris Board found him guilty.
"West Indies' Denesh Ramdin has been fined 100 per cent of the applicable match fee and suspended for two (2) ODI matches after being found guilty of a Level 2 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 match against Pakistan on Friday," an ICC statement said.
Broad, explaining his decision, said, "This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game. I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."
Players found guilty of a Level 2 offence at a hearing have a right to appeal the decision to a Judicial Commissioner, within 24 hours of receipt of that decision. Pending the outcome of the appeal, the sanction imposed will apply.