Congress-NCP wiped out in Mumbai; Priya Dutt, Milind Deora lose

May 16, 2014, 10:38 IST | PTI

Congress and NCP were wiped out in Mumbai with all their heavyweights like Priya Dutt losing her seat to BJP-Shiv Sena combine

Mumbai: Congress and NCP were wiped out in Mumbai with all their heavyweights like Priya Dutt losing her seat to BJP-Shiv Sena combine

Live results: LOK SABHA ELECTIONS 2014 NEWS for complete coverage

Priya Dutt losing her Mumbai North Central seat to Poonam Mahajan of BJP by margin of 1,86,771 votes. Poonam, daughter of late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan, polled 4,78,535 votes against Dutt's 2,91,764. Farhan Azmi of SP bagged only 9,873 votes while Feroze Palkhiwala of AAP got 34,824 votes. 

Having accepted her defeat, party MP Priya Dutt said people's mandate had been decisive. "I humbly accept their verdict and thank them for all the support. I congratulate Poonam for her victory and extend her my best wishes," she said. 

In Mumbai South, Arvind Sawant of Shiv Sena beat sitting MP Milind Deora.

Union Minister of State for IT and Shipping Milind Deora (Congress), who lost to Shiv Sena's Arvind Sawant in South Mumbai, said in a statement, "The voters of South Mumbai Parliamentary Constituency had elected me to the Parliament in 2004 and 2009....I thank them wholeheartedly for the legislative opportunities they had given me. The election result of 2014 has made a choice otherwise and I accept it with humility."

Congratulating the NDA and Narendra Modi, Deora said he hoped that India would move forward, economically and socially, under his leadership. He also congratulated Sawant and said he looked forward to "supporting him on any initiative that is for the betterment of South Mumbai". 

In Mumbai North West, Gajanan Kirtikar of Shiv Sena triumphed over Congress's Gurudas Kamat. 

MP Gurudas Kamat has conceded defeat and congratulated the winner Gajanan Kirtikar. He stated that he accepts the verdict of the people with all humility and assures the citizens of continued active participation in public life, with a view to help the citizens of Mumbai in whatever way possible.

Priya Dutt
Priya Dutt, Congress candidate from Mumbai North Central

In Mumbai South Central, Shiv Sena's Rahul Shewale defeated Congress's Eknath Gaikwad by 1,38,046 votes. Shewale polled 3,80,747 votes as against Gaikwad's 242701 votes.

Kirit Somaiya of BJP won the Mumbai North East seat against Sanjay Dina Patil of NCP.

In Mumbai North, BJP's Gopal Shetty beat his rival Sanjay Nirupam of Congress.

Commuters at CST

Commuters watching election updates at CST station in Mumbai

In neighbouring Thane district's Rajan Vichare of Shiv Sena won by over one lakh votes against NCP's Sanjeev Naik.

In Kalyan, Shrikant Shinde of Shiv Sena beat Anand Paranjpe of NCP by 2,50,749 votes. While Shinde polled 4,40,892 votes, Paranjpe got 1,90,143.

In 2004 and 2009, Mumbai had backed Congress giving it and ally NCP 7 of 10 seats in Mumbai and Thane belt.

DISCLAIMER: mid-day and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Mumbai: 65-year-old woman dragged on train platform while boarding

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK