Debutant Hughes hits ton as Aussies coast to ODI win over Sri Lanka

Jan 11, 2013, 16:48 IST | AFP

Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 107 runs in the opening one-day international at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday.

Opener Phil Hughes scored a debut century as Australia amassed 305 for five and dismissed Sri Lanka cheaply for a 107-run victory in the opening match of the five-game one-day international series on Friday.

Hughes became the first Australian to score a century on his ODI debut as the hosts posted a big score after winning the toss against Sri Lanka in Melbourne.

The diminutive left-hander cracked 112 off 129 balls to help set the Sri Lankans a competitive run chase under lights at 6.12 runs an over.

But the Sri Lankans, despite being well in the match at 111 for two, self-destructed with three run outs and Clint McKay (4-33) helped bowl the tourists out for 198 with 10 overs to spare.

Hughes was the highlight of a free-scoring Australian innings with skipper George Bailey scoring 89 off 79 balls and David Hussey chipping in with a late unbeaten 60 off 34 balls.

Phil Hughes
Phil Hughes raises his bat after his century. Pic/ AFP

Hussey, the younger brother of veteran Mike Hussey, finished with a flourish, plundering 21 runs off the last over from off-spinner Ajantha Mendis, including a six over long-off to bring up his half-century.

There were a couple of failures in the Australian innings with Usman Khawaja run out for three after setting off for a risky single and being sent back by Hughes.

Fellow top-order debutant Aaron Finch went for 16 and Glenn Maxwell was caught attempting to chip over the on side off Nuwan Kulasekara for five.

Paceman Lasith Malinga didn't fare well on his return for Sri Lanka taking 1-61 on a pitch suited for batting.

Sri Lanka were travelling well at the halfway stage of their innings before Tillakaratne Dilshan (51) was run out by a direct hit from Usman Khawaja.

The Sri Lankans paid dearly for suicidal running between wickets with cover fieldsman Glenn Maxwell running out Angelo Mathews (12) and Lahiru Thirimanne (0) in consecutive deliveries in the 30th over as Sri Lanka slumped to 128 for five.

Mitchell Johnson (2-43) dismissed Jeevan Mendis (20) caught at mid-off and wicketkeeper Brad Haddin pulled off a diving catch to remove the danger man Dinesh Chandimal for 73 off 95 balls in the following over from McKay.

Johnson also removed Thisara Perera (four) and McKay claimed the last two wickets in successive deliveries.

Australia rested opener David Warner, skipper Michael Clarke, injured vice-captain Shane Watson and wicketkeeper Matt Wade, while Mike Hussey, newly-retired from Test cricket, was dumped after announcing this will be his final international season.

It is the most first-gamers Australia have fielded in an ODI game since January 1986 when Simon Davis, Dave Gilbert, Bruce Reid and Steve Waugh made their debuts.

The second game in the series takes place in Adelaide on Sunday.

Australia innings

A. Finch c Chandimal b A. Mendis 16

P. Hughes c Chandimal b Malinga 112

U. Khawaja run out (J. Mendis) 3

G. Bailey c J. Mendis b Mathews 89

D. Hussey not out 60

G. Maxwell c A. Mendis b Kulasekara 5

B. Haddin not out 10

Extras (2b, 3lb, 5w) 10

Total (5 wkts; 50 overs) 305

Fall of wickets: 1-53 (Finch), 2-72 (Khawaja), 3-212 (Hughes), 4-241 (Bailey), 5-248 (Maxwell).

Bowling: Kulasekara 10-0-53-1, Malinga 10-1-61-1 (2w), Mathews 8-0-46-1, A. Mendis 10-0-62-1 (3w), Dilshan 4-0-17-0, Perera 4-0-28-0, J. Mendis 4-0-33-0

Sri Lanka innings

U. Tharanga c Haddin b Starc 1

T. Dilshan run out (Khawaja) 51

M. Jayawardene c Finch b McKay 5

D. Chandimal c Haddin b McKay 73

A. Mathews run out (Maxwell) 12

L. Thirimanne run out (Maxwell) 0

J. Mendis c Bailey b Johnson 20

T. Perera c Bailey b Johnson 4

N. Kulasekara c Bailey b McKay 18

L. Malinga not out 1

A. Mendis c Haddin b McKay 0

Extras (2b, 2lb, 9w) 13

Total (all out; 40 overs) 198

Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Tharanga), 2-17 (Jayawardene), 3-111 (Dilshan), 4-128 (Mathews), 5-128 (Thirimanne), 6-167 (J Mendis), 7-169 (Chandimal), 8-194 (Perera), 9-198 (Kulasekara), 10-198 (A Mendis)

Bowling: Starc 6-0-25-1 (2w), McKay 8-0-33-4 (5w), Johnson 9-1-43-2 (2w), Doherty 8-0-41-0, Maxwell 4-0-28-0, Hussey 5-0-24-0.

Australia won by 107 runs

Australia lead 5-match series: 1-0

Man-of-the-match: Phil Hughes (AUS)

Toss: Australia

Umpires: Paul Reiffel (AUS), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Go to top