Dempo SC hold EB 0-0 to win I-League

Apr 21, 2012, 08:05 IST | Agencies

Goans hold EB 0-0 to win I-League; create history by winning fifth national title

Dempo SC made history when they won the I-League crown for a record fifth time yesterday as they held Kolkata’s Kingfisher East Bengal to a goalless draw. The draw took the Goan outfit to 54 points from 25 matches — beyond the reach of any other club. Pune FC and Churchill Brothers are at a distant second and third on 46 and and 45 points respectively after their second last outings, while fourth-placed Churchill Brothers (45 points) have two games to go.

Dempo SC celebrate after winning the I-League title at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa yesterday

In a must-win match for East Bengal, visiting coach Trevor Morgan fielded a three-man attack consisting of Tolgay Ozbey, Robin Singh and Edmilson Marques, but failed to score to stay in the title hunt. Dempo will be presented the champion’s trophy after their last match against Kolkata’s Prayag United at the Salt Lake Stadium on May 5.

I-league’s money matters
>> Champions: Rs 70 lakh
>>  Runners-up: Rs 40 lakh
>>  3rd Place: Rs 25 lakh
>>  4th place: Rs 15 lakh
>>  Every match won: Rs 35000
>>  Man-of-the-Match: Rs 5000

Go to top